Golden Nugget (Multiplied)

I was looking at a group of cows in a field this morning, lying there perfectly content, even though it was raining. Vulnerable…

My mind went right to Paul who said in 1st Timothy 6:8:

And having food and raiment let us be therewith content. (KJV)

But if we have food and clothing, we will be content with that. (NIV)

Food and clothing (their fur/skin) are all that those cows have in that field. Do they have predators? They are vulnerable to whatever comes their way. Would we be content with just food and clothing?

Contentment doesn’t seem to exist in America; and sadly, I’m finding it isn’t in me either. I used to think I was, but contentment isn’t truly contentment if it’s conditional…i.e., “I’m content, as long as I have this or that…”

I can’t be vulnerable without contentment. Vulnerability is sitting out in that open field in the rain and not looking for another way out or something better or grumbling/complaining about what I don’t have.

There are two important points in: 1st Timothy 6:5-6:

  • It is a coupling of godliness and contentment that is great and abundant gain.
  • Contentment is a sense of inward sufficiency (Amplified version describes this)
    • Not outward circumstances
    • If we don’t have that inward sufficiency – inner healing may be needed
Leave a Reply

