Before the Dawn 3-23-14

“Brethren, if a man be overtaken in a fault, ye which are spiritual, restore such an one in the spirit of meekness; considering thyself, lest thou also be tempted. Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ. For if a man think himself to be something, when he is nothing, he deceiveth himself.” Galatians 6:1-3

“Brethren” = someone in our church is “overtaken in a fault” (sin), we’ve seen it time after time. Everyone we meet has some kind of sin in their life. How do we respond?

Sin, it’s what our flesh is prone to do, right? But O how that same flesh puffs itself up and stands in judgment…thinking “himself to be something”.

In pride (sin) we look down on the other. Our inner thoughts toward them are what?

When I read these three verses this morning my pride was exposed. The prideful inner thought life that I’m not always aware of, and think no one else knows about.

But I also felt God’s heart and inner thoughts were exposed too.

I felt God’s active response toward one who sins is seen in Paul’s direction to “restore such a one”. Isn’t that what we see on the Cross too? God’s active response to the fall of mankind being Jesus, our Burden bearer…

For me, it is becoming clearer that I want to walk and act in ways that agree with God’s heart. God’s heart always has been, and still is today, that of restoration. He wants to pick us up, dust us off, cleanse our life, and restore us to right relationship with Him.

The way God cleanses away our flesh, isn’t about hurting us…He hasn’t condemned me, or accused me, or rejected me, or said hurtful words to me when I have been “overtaken in a fault”, so who am I agreeing with when I do those things to others?

God is out to make sure that our flesh isn’t what would keep doing the hurting. God’s heart toward us really is so much fuller of love than we can ever imagine.

Leave a Reply

