“How Firm A Foundation”

There are times, in my private worship, I like to pull out old hymnals and read the lyrics as prayers or (attempt) to sing them. I came across this song tonight:

“How Firm A Foundation”

It was written in 1787.  The years these songs are written always amazes me. I think of how those saints of the Lord had a grip on some serious meat from the Word. I think of how amazing it is in how true the words are even today. These old hymns truly are filled with the eternal Word.

“How firm a foundation, ye saints of the Lord, is laid for your faith in His excellent word!”  

Our foundation, sure, solid, unmovable…is still The Word! The Word of God, Christ Jesus, the Living Word. In The Word is every provision for our faith, when tested and tried, when troubles seems to come like a flood, there is a provision already made.

“When through fiery trials thy pathway shall lie, My grace, all sufficient, shall be thy supply; The Flame shall not hurt thee; I only design thy dross to consume, and thy gold to refine.”

Christ follower’s in the 1700’s to today face fiery trials. God was refining His people then too.  And, boy have I been feeling the heat lately, have you? I have to admit, I’m weary and worn. But my Lord Jesus is so faithful to meet my need…to hear His voice comfort me, to feel the security of His Presence. His voice is very clear in this song. I hope you will click the link (the song title) and listen to it. Words written in the 1700’s being sung today really move me…but Jesus’ heart in the words moves me more.

“The soul that on Jesus hath leaned for repose, I will not, I will not desert to his foes; That soul, though all hell should endeavor to shake, I’ll never, no, never, no, never forsake.”
Leave a Reply

