Giving Words

I tend to get fascinated with words. I like how silly words can be: Dilly bar, Piccadilly, Flamingo…some words just make me smile: Wifty and Jiminy Cricket…So, it’s not unusual as I read the Bible for me to come across a word that catches my mind and makes me dig deeper into just that one word. I ran across such a word and felt I should share.

Adjectives

 Ascribe: Webster’s: “to refer to a supposed cause, source, or author” – also connected to Attribute: “a word ascribing a quality; especially: adjective”

 In the KJV, Ascribe is used only 4 times. Three out of the four times are in specific reference to God, and the fourth is about Saul and David. The other word used in place of Ascribe is Give.

Deuteronomy 32:3 Because I will publish the name of the Lord: ascribe ye greatness unto our God.

1 Samuel 18:8 And Saul was very wroth, and the saying displeased him; and he said, They have ascribed unto David ten thousands, and to me they have ascribed but thousands: and what can he have more but the kingdom?

Job 36:3 I will fetch my knowledge from afar, and will ascribe righteousness to my Maker.

Psalm 68:34 Ascribe ye strength unto God: his excellency is over Israel, and his strength is in the clouds.

 As the bible says our tongues hold the power of life and death, blessing or curse, it’s not our tongue literally but the words that roll off of our tongues.

I hadn’t really thought of it this way before, but what we say about someone is a form of giving to them. We either give a blessing, we give nothing, or we give a curse with the words we speak about them or to them. 

 Ascribing and Attributing involve the use of adjectives. We can think of all kinds of them when we are really mad, and they aren’t good most of the time, but do we really consider the use of adjectives as a form of giving to God, and giving to those around us?

 I see in the above scripture examples: First, “I will” is determination and intentional behavior. We choose intentionally to honor God by giving/ascribing to Him is Greatness, Strength, and Righteousness. We can also give/ascribe to others around us with the same intentional behavior. We can ascribe all kinds of positive adjectives. Take your pick from the many lists of adjectives out there on the web. Second, God is worthy of every good adjective: Ps. 29:2 “Ascribe to the Lord the glory due his name;”

 What difference will it make to your worship time and prayer time to intentionally look for adjectives that will ascribe Him the glory due his name?

 What difference will it make to those we love when we intentionally look for life-giving adjectives to ascribe to them and their life?

Seems to me this is like learning a new language.  🙂  The language of Giving Words.

 

Leave a Reply

