Day 16 – Prison Diaries – Foolish Things

1 Corinthians 1:27 (AMP)

27 [No] for God selected (deliberately chose) what in the world is foolish to put the wise to shame, and what the world calls weak to put the strong to shame. (Foolish = G3474, an act or appointment by God deemed foolish by men, without learning”

I’d like to think out loud on this verse and what’s been going on, if you don’t mind hearing me ramble.

Recently, within prison ministry, a couple of instances happened which made me feel and see my own inadequacy to be in this position for the Lord. “Do I turn back?” “Do I give up?” were questions popping up in my thinking.

But God, as part of the Christmas play, reminded me and confirmed yet again His call for me to be at the prison. So I stopped asking the questions and listened and looked toward the Lord…

The Lord has kept me quiet at the prison for the month of December. I have not given a message there all month. I’ve only been attending the services, but not participating other than the play, which I even wanted to get out doing, but God let that one activity remain – so I’d get the message from Him I’m sure.

I woke up this morning with all this swirling in my thoughts and needed to talk it out in writing so here we are.

I woke to thinking about how working for the Lord is more about His ability, not mine.  He also reminded me that throughout scripture God used people who were unqualified by human standards, because He wants people to see His greatness not the person’s. And really what good does it do others to show myself off? Only God has what they need.

So, I think I’m just a “foolish” person set out there to confound the wise by God’s abilities coming through me rather than my own. And isn’t that better, to allow God to be seen through us?

I think it must be an onion layer to come off my stinky flesh – the willingness to step back and allow God to be seen in me instead of wanting whatever I thought I’d gain for myself. Seeing my own inadequacy and to be willing to be a “foolish thing” in the worlds eyes.

I know I’m not qualified, and I never will be qualified, because God’s plans (for me and for all of us) are God sized plans – He calls us to things only He can accomplish.

Thank you Lord for using me, thank you that I have no claim to fame, and thank you for forgiving me my selfish ways. Let Your Light Shine through me. In Jesus Name, amen.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

