The Touch of a Nose

Knowing we hear the voice of God can feel illusive at times.

It started with Beneful Dog Food. I was feeding this brand to my dog, Dollar, but he started to have seizures and then lost a lot of control over his bladder. I quickly switched food, went through a great deal of effort to stabilize his stomach, but his bowels and bladder haven’t returned to normal.  When Dollar asks to go out, even now when it’s so urgent, all I get is a gentle touch of his nose or the slightest of grazes or a tap. If I’m not paying attention to him, he waters my carpet.

God is speaking to us kind of like how Dollar speaks to me, it takes learning Him and how He would speak to us individually to know when He’s tapped us, or crazed us so gently with His Mighty but Tender Hand. I heard a friend say one time: “God’s always talking, you just have to figure out what channel He’s on and tune Him in.”

My thought is this: “May I never forget your words, for they are my only hope.” Ps. 119:43  Because, what God says is vital! We can’t afford to miss Him. A wet carpet is nothing compared to missing what the Lord would say today, how He wants to direct my steps, to guide my way, and to lead me down the right paths.

In a world of so many voices, so many people wanting to be heard, so many tapping us or grazing us – let’s not forget to be on the lookout for, and recognize God our Father, the Lord Jesus, and Holy Spirit.

He is always talking to us, we just have to tune in and be conscious of His touch. 🙂

Deuteronomy 5:24
And ye said, Behold, the LORD our God hath shewed us his glory and his greatness, and we have heard his voice out of the midst of the fire: we have seen this day that God doth talk with man, and he liveth.

Jeremiah 3:25
We lie down in our shame, and our confusion covereth us: for we have sinned against the LORD our God, we and our fathers, from our youth even unto this day, and have not obeyed the voice of the LORD our God.

Psalm 29:3
The voice of the LORD is upon the waters: the God of glory thundereth: the LORD is upon many waters.

Ezekiel 43:2
And, behold, the glory of the God of Israel came from the way of the east: and his voice was like a noise of many waters: and the earth shined with his glory.

Revelation 14:2
And I heard a voice from heaven, as the voice of many waters, and as the voice of a great thunder: and I heard the voice of harpers harping with their harps:

4 thoughts on “The Touch of a Nose

  1. Amy, I love how you drew the paralell here. It especially caught my attention because I have a new puppy. About 20 minutes ago I was thinking I WILL figure out his cues for pottying! We all need to catch Father God’s cues, they’re there.

    1. Hi Barbara, thank you for stopping by. Excellent way to say it: “the cues”. 🙂 Aw a puppy, you know all the questions I must ask now, what type of dog, boy or girl, what did you name it? 🙂 Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

