Abundance in Strange Places

During a prayer time the other night, Holy Spirit popped Luke 10  into my head. I quickly looked it up in my bible, not remembering specifically what that chapter was about, and found it to be a Word He spoke to me in a dream a few years ago. This dream was the confirmation to take my last job, the warning of losing my last job, and the assurance of the “opportunity” coming after that.

“After that” is a season…dessert season? I don’t know, I haven’t seen cactuses or lizards, or dust balls blowing by the house…I haven’t seen lack or been thirsty or hungry or alone…honestly, what I’ve seen of this season is increase! I guess some would say losing my job, a shrinking savings, and limited unemployment support is grounds for saying this season to be a desert season, and its true those are decreasing, but I still see the abundance is there and more is on its way.

(Get your bible, link provided) Luke 10 starts with a phrase that made me turn back a page: “After these things”. I flipped back to chapter 9 to see it was when Jesus called the twelve together, gave them power and authority over all devils, and to cure diseases, which is the start of their work, which is then carried over to the 70/72 to be sent out in chapter 10. Follow me?

Well, in v.10 of chpt.9 the disciples return to Jesus after going out “And He took them, and went aside privately into a desert place belonging to the city called Bethsaida.” This is where Jesus fed the 5000 with fishes and loaves. I have read that story all my life and never noticed that this place of an abundance miracle, the story pastors refer to when they speak of Jesus’ ability to provide and to do so abundantly was a desert place! Wow! That adds so much more to the message of His Provision for me and maybe for you too?

The definition of desert includes so many difficult issues we go through. Check out the meanings:
http://www.blueletterbible.org/Bible.cfm?b=Luk&c=9&v=10&t=KJV#10

Desert: G2048
1) solitary, lonely, desolate, uninhabited
a) used of places
1) a desert, wilderness
2) deserted places, lonely regions
3) an uncultivated region fit for pasturage
b) used of persons
1) deserted by others
2) deprived of the aid and protection of others, especially of friends, acquaintances, kindred
3) bereft
a) of a flock deserted by the shepherd
b) of a woman neglected by her husband, from whom the husband withholds himself

There is Hope in all these areas! There is a great deal in there about loneliness, but if you check out the meanings of the other words in this verse you will see that Jesus becomes our companion, He will join Himself with us. He will never leave us or forsake us! Does He seem far away? He’s not, just start talking, He’s hanging on to every word you say excited for you to talk to Him and invite Him in.

I think of Elijah under the juniper tree. He ran there on purpose out of fear, it wasn’t a season God called him too, and yet – even so- regardless – there was provision. Why? Because with Jesus as our Savior and Lord, as a Child of God, there is Abundance for wherever we are, in whatever season, for whatever reason we are there…because He is our Abundance, not the nearest town, not the bank, not our jobs…just Him. Abundance is not just money, the joy He fills us with, the Hope…there is just so much more!

We rest on Sabbath, to acknowledge that He is our provision, not the work of our hands.
We work as unto the Lord in all we do, because it is He who is our boss and provider.
We tithe to Him, not our company, because He is our abundance, and our increase.

All Jesus asks is in v.20, “But who do you say I am?”

I hope you keep reading along with this and dig it out for yourself, there is much more… check out Pt.2 of this post – stay tuned!
God Bless you abundantly wherever you are, whatever season you’re in!

Leave a Reply

