Metal Detecting History – Find 1

I love the land I live on! I have to say I have appreciated it in different ways from the time I moved in August 1st 2004 to now. The first couple days I was so scared; coming from the city with all its sounds all the time, to no noise at all any of the time, is a massive change. I wanted to high-tail-it back to the city after a day or two, but as I prayed a prayer of questions, fear, and regret early one morning, the Lord grabbed my attention saying: “Look, look outside. It’s what you wanted!” The window was open, curtains softly fluttering with a light breeze, birds singing, sun shining, deep green grass…I knelt down just looking and taking it all in. I smiled and breathed in the air. In my heart and mind I knew…the Lord confirmed His hand on me living here.

Since then I’ve come to appreciate the space of this land, even the darkness is ok now, the safety of His protection, the walks I take, the different birds – especially the bluebird (not to be confused with Blue Jay’s), the different wild flowers, and the amazing views off either side of this ridge line. The amazing sunsets…have you seen a chocolate sunset? The colors have faded till they swirl into a milk chocolate-brown color.

I’ve now come to appreciate this land for its history! I want to hear more… who walked on it, who lived here, what it was like for them here…I wonder if the spring peepers were even louder for them when they settled this land, what was the view they saw…

Anyway, I’ve taken up metal detecting and hope to find more clues as to who the settlers were of this land….this Triune land. (Attached is a brief historical account of this land as remembered and collected from others by one man: E.C. Brown. It’s the only information I have found) http://www.wvculture.org/history/agrext/triune.html

I thought I might share what I find, taking you along for the ride! 🙂

My first major find, because mostly it’s been old nails, is this hefty size horse shoe. Because of its size it appears to be a larger than normal horse, a work horse. It’s a used shoe, with wear at the top. Settlers would have used large plow horses.

“Before the invention of the automobile, the horse served as man’s primary means of transportation in many parts of the world. The horse can cover a lot more ground in a day’s travel than a person can on foot. It can also haul heavy loads, transporting goods along with people in stagecoaches, wagons, and trolleys. Horses carried homesteaders and their belongings in covered wagons into the wild American West and helped expand and transform a few struggling colonies into a great nation.” http://www.netplaces.com/horse/history-of-the-horse/the-horses-influence-on-american-civilization.htm  “American settlers desired horses that were multifunctional. They wanted horses they could ride, plow fields with, and hitch to a carriage for a drive to church on Sunday. One of the first American breeds, the Morgan horse, is noted for its versatility and easily filled this bill. Other American breeds such as the Saddlebred and the Tennessee Walker developed from plantation horses, bred for their easy gaits. A man could sit comfortably and ride them over miles and miles of farmland without tiring.”

Leave a Reply

