3 Fresh New Ideas

Something I’ve been struggling with lately is reading the Bible. I pray at some point it would come to life in my mind like it does for Max Lucado, but in the mean time God has been bringing in fresh new ideas for me on reading the Word. I wanted to pass them on, because it is vital we keep reading and applying what we read.

(I will use Ps. 27 for my examples.)

1. Praying the Word

Something I noticed several years ago were the prayers written out in different books of the New Testament like: Ephesians, Colossians, 1 Peter. We can’t forget the Psalms, from the Old Testament either. We can pray these for ourselves and others. We can pray the whole bible for that matter! Don’t limit it. When you are reading and something stands out to you, start to rephrase it and pray it! Remember: Praises and Thanksgiving are part of praying.

Ex. Thank you Lord for being my light and my salvation! Praise you Lord that there is nothing and no one greater to fear, You are all-powerful Jesus!

“Spoken words release the origin of things (Gen. 1:3). Life and death are in the tongue (Prov. 18:21)”

2. Prophesying the Word

This is new to me, but I love it!
v.1-3 is written like prophesy we can speak over ourselves, and we can rephrase it and expand on it as the Spirit leads us.
Ex. v.7: The Lord will hear my voice when I call, because He loves me and cares for me. He will be merciful to me and answer me in His great love towards me. Seeking His face is my hearts delight, my heart says of the Lord, that I must seek His face.”
To prophesy it over your spouse or children (or others): The Lord will hear ____’s voice when he/she calls, because He loves ______ and cares for him/her.

“Faith comes by hearing, and hearing is the Word (Rm 10:17) Renew your mind daily (Rm 12:1-3)”

3. Singing the Word

When I heard this suggestion, I was up at 3am, guitar in hand, and singing Psalm 27. Notice I didn’t say I sang it beautifully, or that I play guitar as a professional – neither would be truth for sure! I don’t sing well, and I don’t know how to play the guitar, but God loves the praise of His children, and He inhabits them! When I sing it, sometimes the Spirit moves me to add in other scriptures that I know, as well as praises and thanksgiving for the truth I’m singing.

v. 6 “I will sing and make music to the Lord”

“A blessing is an empowerment to prosper. A curse is an empowerment to fail (Deut 11:26:28)”

When we prophesy, pray, speak and sing the Word over ourselves we are empowered and prosper in the Lord.

A note of caution: I’m not suggesting changing scripture! I’m not advocating adding in stuff that isn’t in the Word! Stick to the Truth of the Word, the Word itself. Holy Spirit does not and will not suggest adding unscriptural words, thoughts, ideas.

Quotes are from: Revelation Wisdom Ministries, Inc.

Leave a Reply

