Food: The Stomach god

Food is king in this country, drive-thru altars are stationed on every corner ready to accept the offerings we are eager to pay, but today I’m calling that god out by shining a light on it. Let’s soak it in God’s Light of Truth and be free from it!!

Matthew 4:4 “But He answered and said, “It is written, ‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that proceeds from the mouth of God.’”

“I assure you: You are looking for Me, not because you saw the signs, but because you ate the loaves and were filled.” John 6:26

Miracle = G4592: of miracles and wonders by which God authenticates the men sent by him, or by which men prove that the cause they are pleading is God’s

The signs and wonders the crowds in John 6:26 saw were from God, the Kingdom power and authority given to Jesus to authenticate Who He is in God, but they didn’t see past their stomach god to recognize the Kingdom of God!

“For, as I have often told you before and now tell you again even with tears, many live as enemies of the cross of Christ. 19 Their destiny is destruction, their god is their stomach, and their glory is in their shame. Their mind is set on earthly things. 20 But our citizenship is in heaven. And we eagerly await a Savior from there, the Lord Jesus Christ” Philippians 3:18-20 (NIV)

The Kingdom of God is not about our stomachs. What’s the point? The point is when we live to eat we are living for our flesh, which is to set our minds on earthly things, and is to live as an enemy to the Cross. Pretty strong point there!

Jesus, His Cross, bought our freedom from addiction. He bought a new life for us, a life not about living for our flesh, but living by His Spirit. To put our stomach first is to put Jesus second or even lower on our list.

“Those who live according to the flesh have their minds set on what the flesh desires; but those who live in accordance with the Spirit have their minds set on what the Spirit desires.” Romans 8:5

“Don’t you see that whatever enters the mouth goes into the stomach and then out of the body?” Matthew 15:17

“Do not work for food that spoils, but for food that endures to eternal life, which the Son of Man will give you.” John 6:27

I’m becoming aware of the people out there who need me/us, and as we turn our thoughts and attention toward Jesus, He directs our steps to be about His business to help them.

There is so much more for us to do in this life! It’s time to push away from the altar of our stomach god, and seek to help the many people who are in need of HIM, who we carry inside us.

“I have not departed from the commands of his lips; I have treasured the words of his mouth more than my daily bread.” Job 23:12

2 thoughts on “Food: The Stomach god

  1. A big amen to this post! I have been bowing down to the stomach god for too long. It has gripped me and almost killed me. I am so grateful that God have scriptures so specific on this subject. And more than that, He is willing to provide us with the mercy and help we need to see our way out of the food and back into His loving arms!

    1. I started writing the food posts because of my own obssession with food and years of weight I just couldn’t seem to budge off. I saw on YouVersion bible ap that there was a 7 day reading plan on food – so, I started a 7 day fast, that included the daily bible verses to meditate on and quickly figured out I needed to share this! It is so radically different thinking from the normal diet rollercoaster.
      In the diet plans we are just trying to be thin, and control food. But God’s Word made it all so clear to me! “Food is for the stomach” was profound for me, and “Don’t worry about what you will eat or what you will wear” – man, I realized how much I actually thought about food and planned for it and craved it.
      Sorry, I tend to go on about this topic 🙂
      I’m very happy it blessed you.

Leave a Reply

