Prison Diaries – Which Of Us Is Really Locked Up?

All these years, Matthew has been telling me I’m free, but I think I finally understood his perspective last Sunday when I attended the church service at Pruntytown Correctional Center. A man wearing an orange jumpsuit in ankle chains and waist chains went forward to kneel down before the Lord. He had to be unsure of how he’d get back up, but that didn’t stop him.

This has been on my mind ever since, and I knew God wanted me to write about it, but I didn’t know in what way until this morning. The phrase: “you don’t know what you have till it’s gone” came to my mind, and honestly folks it scared me. It is an all too real possibility that we could lose our freedom to worship Jesus in this country, as the agenda to make everything politically correct, except Jesus, creeps forward.

The truth is that the “chains” that stop us from worshiping Jesus with abandon are all in our minds, they are whispers and fears that keep us bound from honoring the Lord Jesus. This man who wore actual metal chains is really the free man, and his worship cost him something. His worship got God’s attention!
 20 When David returned home to bless his household, Michal daughter of Saul came out to meet him and said, “How the king of Israel has distinguished himself today, going around half-naked in full view of the slave girls of his servants as any vulgar fellow would!”   21 David said to Michal, “It was before the LORD, who chose me rather than your father or anyone from his house when he appointed me ruler over the LORD’s people Israel—I will celebrate before the LORD. 22 I will become even more undignified than this, and I will be humiliated in my own eyes. But by these slave girls you spoke of, I will be held in honor.  23 And Michal daughter of Saul had no children to the day of her death.”  2 Samuel 6:20-23 (NIV)

“But King David replied to Araunah, “No, I insist on paying the full price. I will not take for the LORD what is yours, or sacrifice a burnt offering that costs me nothing.”  1 Chronicles 21:24

Worshiping Jesus isn’t a light matter, it isn’t for show, it isn’t for our attention…it is to Magnify Jesus’ un-measurable worth, and it should cost us something! Isn’t Jesus worth it?

Must we be reminded constantly of His Worth? Must it constantly take Him calling us to Him? Where is the passion, where is the love that we would run to Him as soon as our eyes open in the morning, seek after Him all day, and not sleep till we know He’s with us?

I’m having a hard time holding back writing this, I feel His frustration at having to constantly tell us and convince us of His Worth. What will it take? What will it take to have a heart like David did for worshiping Lord Jesus? Will it take living on the run from our enemies and God intervening AGAIN to save us, for us to get it?

Jesus died FOR US, He took the violent beatings and tearing of His flesh so that we would not experience it, He stands in front of us so that we can stand before God, He prays for us directly to God… only this much makes any praise and worship we have within our human ability to muster up a pale comparison to what He actually deserves, but it’s what He graciously accepts and desires. All that our little human bodies, minds, and hearts can do is what He asks for in return for His Love, for us, that bought our eternal salvation.

Let’s lay down our embarrassments, our fears, and our comfort zones at the Feet of Jesus as our offering to His Greatness. After what He’s done for us, is it really that costly?
44 Then he turned toward the woman and said to Simon, “Do you see this woman? I came into your house. You did not give me any water for my feet, but she wet my feet with her tears and wiped them with her hair. 45 You did not give me a kiss, but this woman, from the time I entered, has not stopped kissing my feet. 46 You did not put oil on my head, but she has poured perfume on my feet. 47 Therefore, I tell you, her many sins have been forgiven—as her great love has shown. But whoever has been forgiven little loves little.”  Luke 7:44-47  

3 thoughts on “Prison Diaries – Which Of Us Is Really Locked Up?

  1. Amy, that is absolutely powerful! Thanks for sharing. I just wanted to ask you about a point you made. At the end of the second paragraph did you mean accept Jesus or except Jesus.

    Loved our time in God’s Word today! God’s love is amazing and His word is exalted above all else.

    Keep writing and speaking for Him, Amy.
    Love,
    Glenda

    1. Hi Glenda,
      Thank you for catching that, that wasn’t right, it is except. 🙂
      I do believe our bible study time to be awesome for all of us, thank you so much for teaching!
      I’ll be calling you
      Amy

Leave a Reply

