Food: When is enough, enough?

 Philippians 4:12
“I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”

Several years ago, I did a biblical weight loss plan called: “Weigh Down”. The main thing about this program is to only eat when hungry and to eat just enough to be satisfied, which is comfortably full. We were to split our ordinary size meals in half and eat only half, and drink lots of water. What I took away from this study was the awareness of what true hunger was, and that much smaller portion sizes were satisfying.

Something to catch is the word: “Satisfied”. I had to learn the difference between too full and satisfied (comfortably full). I find in scripture that anywhere it is mentioned that people were satisfied in what they ate, it was a blessing from God. I’m praying for the blessing of being satisfied.

John 6:51
“I am the living bread that came down from heaven. Whoever eats this bread will live forever. This bread is my flesh, which I will give for the life of the world.”

John 4:13-14
“13 Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, 14 but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”

We lack contentment and thankfulness when ‘just enough’ food isn’t enough. We lack gratitude to the Lord for the food He’s provided, as we crave and demand more and more.

I see contentment as a big issue with overeating. Scripture says to: eat till satisfied, but we aren’t satisfied until we’ve over-done-it! Or are we even truly satisfied then, since we keep over-doing-it? Jesus is what will truly satisfy us. Manna is still on the menu folks, and way better for your body!

More on that to come!

2 thoughts on “Food: When is enough, enough?

Leave a Reply

