Timidity – it’s not a fruit of the Spirit!

The temps are so warm today I decided to go for a walk. I quickly felt how long it has been since I’ve walked, so I took a shortcut to the main road through the fire department lot. The thought “It seems to take longer to gain ground than it does to lose it” ran through my mind about how long it takes to build up distance in walking and how quickly we lose it. The follow-up thought to that was that it was true spiritually as well. I thought this seemed right and true, but something in my spirit wasn’t settled on it.

On the way back, I rolled that thought around in my mind to see what was nagging at me about it when, thankfully, the question: “We’re on the winning team Lord, why would it take longer for us to gain ground than to lose it?” popped into my head and rose up in my spirit. I asked God, “Is it ok to pray that we take ground faster than we lose it?” and my spirit was immediately battle ready and excited! So much so, I almost started jumping right there along the road! I didn’t take the shortcut on the way back either! I’m not willingly giving up ground anymore!

Over Thanksgiving a couple of incidents happened with purchases: I didn’t get the discount I should have gotten and a problem at the groomers where they didn’t do even half of what they were supposed to do. My sister asked if I was afraid to make sure I received that discount and it prompted me to think. I said I wasn’t scared, but I had to search inside myself, questioning myself that if I’m not scared then what held me back?

2 Timothy 1:7
For the Spirit God gave us does not make us timid, but gives us power, love and self-discipline.

Timid G1167, Greek: deilia, = fearfulness, hesitant, cowardice

I feel these two instances connect through Timidity! It was easy to take the shortcut; it was timidity inside me saying: “it’s ok” when I knew it was giving up ground I’d gained walking all summer. Just like it was timid of me not to speak up and say something about the discount right when I saw they weren’t giving it to me.

Please don’t get me wrong, I’m not endorsing being abusive or even rude. I believe in peacemaking, I believe in being submissive to my husband and Godly authority, I believe that gentle words turn away wrath, and I believe in loving people, but somehow, some way, somewhere, timid got thrown into the Fruits of the Spirit. I’ve allowed timidity to be part of my walk, confusing it with other things like kindness, gentleness, or peacemaking.

When it comes to people and relationships, all the love of Christ and fruits of the Spirit apply, but timidity is not included.

When it comes to taking ground spiritually for the Kingdom of God, it’s a different ball game. It’s not against flesh and blood we fight. Taking ground for the kingdom of heaven is no place for timidity either!  There is just no place for it in our life.

Matthew 11:12
“From the days of John the Baptist until now, the kingdom of heaven has been forcefully advancing, and forceful men lay hold of it.”

Timidity is fear based and it makes us hesitate and cower from following the Lord. It holds us back from moving into new territory with the Lord, it keeps us from stepping forward to speak truth in love, and it really is comfortable there. We don’t have to step out of our comfort zones, we can lay back and feel good that others are doing the hard stuff…

Oh, but watch out…it’s also another lie, because with the Lord if we aren’t going forward we are either going backwards or will be. Timidity can look like or be called: “being careful”, “being prayerful”… the only way to know for sure is to dig out the root of why we hesitate, why we don’t speak up, why we aren’t going forward, and why we aren’t taking any ground for the kingdom.

My first steps against timidity: I called the store and did get the discount I should have gotten. At the groomers, I spoke up and ended up not paying at all. So, thank you, to my sister Betsy, for pointing that out for me so that I could address it.

I am now praying: “God, help me take ground, even faster, and not lose any of it! Please remove fear from my heart and mind!”

Now is not a time for timidity in the Body of Christ!

8 thoughts on “Timidity – it’s not a fruit of the Spirit!

    1. Hello again, I was wondering if you had any other thoughts on the root of Timidity? Seems to me it’s fear based to me, but with a covering of wisdom/being sensiable, being cautious. That little bit of truth mixed with a lie. What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

