Our Banner

A while back, at a Vendor Day, I noticed that all companies have banners. They are either large flag type banners that skirt a table, or they are signage that stands behind their display table. Whatever way they choose to set up their display table/site, they have a banner to announce who they are! It got me wondering, what is my banner? What does it say to people who see me or talk with me? It also got me wondering if I and we, as believers, are even putting banners out anymore, or have we tucked them in a closet, thinking more about the approval of man than the One we represent in this world?

Graham tartan colors

We all have banners we fly; we just might not realize it: our family names are a banner, our companies, the organizations we support, and our churches…to name just a few.  My husband-to-be is of the Graham Clan from Scotland, and he is happily aware that his roots  were traced back to a Graham warrior standing and fighting right next to William Wallace.

Ross Crest

My Scottish blood line is from the Ross Clan, but I don’t have that much other info. Each of these families has their own tartan colors, family crests (seal), and banners.  If you have attended the Highland games you know how seriously they take this.  The Israelites were the same.  When they pitched their tents, it was beside their family banner. When they were spoken of by name it usually included what family line they were from.

Israel Tribe Flags

Our banner, tartan colors, and family crest (seal), as believers, are all of God.  Some of us might have  been clued in to what tribe we fall under, but the only flag that matters is CHRIST!  When He asks us to step out for Him, we know, because we can feel it, the Banner of the Lord is over us for all to see.

Recently, the Lord has asked me to step out, twice, publicly for Him!  To my discredit, I can’t say I’m proud of the feelings I felt at the “public displaying of His banner”.  I’ll be honest with you, because as a church we have to start being honest with each so that we can all learn and grow…I felt embarrassed and vulnerable to the ridicule of man.  I had no idea I would feel that way, and I’m
ashamed I did.

Matt. 10:32 “Everyone who acknowledges me publicly here on earth, I
will also acknowledge before my Father in heaven.”

Luke 12:8 “I tell you the truth, everyone who acknowledges me publicly here on earth, the Son of Man will also acknowledge in the presence of God’s angels”

Rm. 1:28 “Since they thought it foolish to acknowledge God, he
abandoned them to their foolish thinking and let them do things that should never be done.”

But Jesus, His eye is on perfecting us not condemning us!  His banner of love is over us all the time.

We are a “banner” representing God in this world. When we take the chance to tell someone about Jesus, we are flying His Banner.  When we step out to speak up for the Lord, we are flying the Banner of the Lord.  A lot of us are uneasy about this public of a display, but we can grow beyond that!  The more we do it, the easier it is.  He is so worthy!

Song of Songs 8:6  “Place me like a seal over your heart, like a seal on your arm; for love is as strong as death, its jealousy unyielding as the grave. It burns like blazing fire, like a mighty flame.”

 2 Cor. 1:21-22 “Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, 22 set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.”

 2 Timothy 2:19 “Nevertheless, God’s solid foundation stands firm, sealed with this inscription: “The Lord knows those who are his,” and, “Everyone who confesses the name of the Lord must turn away from wickedness.”

Ps. 20:5 “May we shout for joy when we hear of your victory and raise a victory banner in the name of our God. May the LORD answer all your prayers.”

Song of Songs 2:4 “and his banner over me was love”

This is the Banner for our Battle Cry!   God is so awesome, I didn’t even see the connection till now.
https://anedrow.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/the-battle-cry/

3 thoughts on “Our Banner

    1. Hello there, I found the pictures using Google…maybe searching google for the image will help you? I’m sorry I can’t be of more help.

Leave a Reply

