God’s Artwork

Gen.1
27 So God created mankind in his own image,
in the image of God he created them;
male and female he created them.

If you knew me you’d know I like crafts! I love to make things. I have painted paintings, painted ceramics, ornaments and plagues. I’ve made different types of ornaments out of all kinds of things, I’ve crocheted, I’ve colored large posters and coloring books, I’ve traced, painted by numbers, cross stitched, started a small jewelry making business, and made silver with, yes you guessed it – a blow torch! 🙂

I think you get the idea that I love crafts! Out of all the things I’ve done with crafts, my paintings are what I haven’t been able to part with. I have given a couple away, and I even sold one, which I still wish I hadn’t done. I believe that the reason it is more personal with my paintings is because there is more of me in them.

I think this must be how God looks at us, as His workmanship, because He formed us specifically and uniquely. (Ps.139) He knit us together in the womb, breathed His own breath into us to give us life, He gave us our quirkiness, oddness, style… and a piece of Himself inside each of us. Unlike my paintings, which don’t resemble me, we resemble our Creator God. That’s pretty personal!

I was reading a book: “Worship Him” by Fuchsia Pickett, she was saying: “It is through our complete surrender to the love of God that our fears, as well as other sin, can be conquered.” The words stopped me and made me think of how God loves us. He created us in His image, He breathed His own breath into us, He leans in to hear our every prayer, and knows our every thought. He is an intimate God, which Jesus’ life shows. Jesus came to touch people, to know people, to love people, and to save all people. He showed the intimate love of the Father for His creation, His kids.

He designed us; created the inner most parts, and mapped out a plan for how our life could go. He swirled the different colors and painted a unique masterpiece that is each one of us. He enjoys looking at the one He created. He is protective of us and doesn’t want to part with us. He receives joy from us. We are His artwork, a living breathing painting that He adores. We are His craftsmanship that He wants to interact with and have relationship with.

Just as I wouldn’t create a painting and then trash it, neither does God. We were designed especially and specially to be loved by Him and to love Him back. Our hearts are what He forms first in the womb, and it’s our hearts that cry out for His love. That is the “void” people talk about, but don’t know how to fill. God knows how to fill it because He created it, just let Him in.

Ps.139
13 For you created my inmost being;
you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
your works are wonderful,
I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
when I was made in the secret place,
when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
all the days ordained for me were written in your book
before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts,[a] God!

Leave a Reply

