A little Rock

A few years ago, I was on a walk praying and came across this small rock, smooth and flat on both sides.  Holy Spirit in me stirred, and I started thinking and praying about how Jesus is my Rock and Refuge. That He is my unmovable foundation.
Have you ever pondered a rock? The Lord wants to suggest it to you, and here’s why.

2 Samuel 22:47
“The LORD lives! Praise be to my Rock! Exalted be my God, the Rock, my Savior!
Psalm 71:3
Be my rock of refuge, to which I can always go; give the command to save me, for you are my rock and my fortress.

Rock appears 106 times in the NIV, and in those scriptures is much hope. I won’t include them all, but these are a few thoughts to ponder that Holy Spirit brought to mind as I jotted notes on this blog.

• The rocks cry out (stones cry out – Luke 19:39-41)
• The rock that was rolled away from the tomb, He will get us out
• The rocks that cause us to stumble or that we might strike our foot against, He moves them – He guides our steps to miss them.
• The rocks of an angry mob to a woman caught in sin, He stopped them and her accusers, He took our punishment.
• The rock is our foundation, never changing, never moving
• The rock altars where the Israelites stopped to honor God, to celebrate in remembrance of what God did
• Jesus’ pillow was a rock
• The Israelites walked on the dry ground and rocks on the floor of the Red Sea
• The massive rock walls of Jericho crashed down when God said so
• God makes water spring out of rocks

There is so much there to praise God for, to know He would do for us, and to wonder in amazement at God for. Take a look and be encouraged by Him today. He’s mightier than anything we face or ever will face.

song: After the Rain
O God of Glory
O God of all peace
O God of Mercy
You ever love me

O God
You hear my every prayer
And wherever life leads me
I know Your waiting there

To lead me through me the Thunder
And embrace me through the storm
And when all my bones are weary
I have the shelter of Your arms

Oh God of Comfort
You see and know each tear
My father you whisper “I will meet you here”

O God
You love me this I know
And wherever my path leads me
I will not go alone

For you lead me through the thunder
And embrace me through the storm
And when all my bones are weary
I have the shelter of Your arms

O God over burdens
You see and know my pain
And I have never felt nearer
Than when You bring me through the rain
No, I have never felt nearer
Than when You bring me through the rain

2 thoughts on “A little Rock

  1. Can I just say what a relief to find somebody who truly knows what theyre talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to carry a problem to light and make it important. Extra folks need to read this and perceive this facet of the story. I cant consider youre no more widespread because you positively have the gift.

Leave a Reply

