Today

Luke 2:11
Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord.

Oh what we miss when we skip over today, looking for tomorrow!
I confess that I have spent years living for tomorrow. God had been changing my outlook, and then when I lost my job in March each day began to become unique to me and appreciation for each day seeped in. I would go for my walks and it would hit me how different the same walk would look each time I’d go out. From the emerald-green of spring to the now colorful fall, each day was different, and yes that is a truth we need to grab hold of…Each Day Is Truly Different and is meant to be!

Have you ever heard Emeril say: BAM! God reminded me, from past experiences, that God is the Original BAM! Example: God said: “Let there be light” and BAM, there was light! In my past experiences with changing jobs, one day there wasn’t an open door, but the next day… BAM, there’s the job! Open door straight ahead! Looking for a job? Looking to God for help with something? Don’t judge tomorrow based on today.

In Luke 2:11 there was a BAM moment of God. One day there was no Savior for God’s people, and then BAM Jesus is born! Today there is Hope, where yesterday there didn’t seem to be any! We can’t judge tomorrow by what we see today! Jesus is our Hope, and in Him is every reason for Hope in tomorrow, no matter what we see today! Something else to consider is that God was working to bring the Savior long before the BAM moment of Jesus’ birth. The plan was in place from the foundation of the world, the actual BAM was 9 months before His birth when Jesus was conceived by the Holy Spirit. Hope had already arrived, He just wasn’t born yet.

The encouragement is great, are you getting it? The BAM moment we need is coming! So, if you’re only looking for tomorrow, stop and see what God is doing today! The Magi were looking and saw the birth of the Star! We can’t miss today because it holds treasure from God! Today He gives us a Word to live by, today His Mercies are new, today He wants to visit with us, today is a gift, and today deserves our attention for it is the day that the LORD has made!

This seems to be jumble of both: hope in tomorrow and joy of today, but I think there is a great balance there so I think I’ll leave it alone, because we need both! We miss out by overlooking today and we dry up when we have no hope in tomorrow. So, let’s take each day as the gift it is and live it to its fullest, and let’s hope in the BAM of tomorrow!

Isaiah 50:4
The Sovereign LORD has given me a well-instructed tongue, to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being instructed.

Matthew 6:11
Give us today our daily bread.

Hebrews 13:8
Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

Luke 4:21
He began by saying to them, “Today this scripture is fulfilled in your hearing.”

Matthew 6:34
Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

Hebrews 3:13
But encourage one another daily, as long as it is called “Today,” so that none of you may be hardened by sin’s deceitfulness.

Luke 5:26
Everyone was amazed and gave praise to God. They were filled with awe and said, “We have seen remarkable things today.”

Luke 19:5
When Jesus reached the spot, he looked up and said to him, “Zacchaeus, come down immediately. I must stay at your house today.”

4 thoughts on “Today

  1. Blessed by the post Amy. I needed to be reminded that I need to get away from the computer and enjoy the day God gave us. It’ s about mother…gone seven weeks already. Thought I had it altogether, but I don’t. So I will live in this moment and see what God is doing around me right now.
    Love, Glenda

    1. Good Morning Glenda, I will pray for you today and be encouraged that God’s comfort takes only seconds to feel. Jesus walks with us whever we are, or choose to go. He abides with you Glenda. In Him all you have to do is breath, feel the grief, and know He’s got you. I’m always here for you too. Let me know if you need me, even if it’s just to sit and be still with you.
      Love you,
      Amy

Leave a Reply

