Brace Yourself

Stepping out to be God’s hands and feet in this world will take us out of our comfort zones! It may get us a little dirty, or our cars, or our churches, but this is the call and be assured it is very well worth it! We don’t just affect those around us with God’s touch; we are profoundly touched as well.

For some time God had me praying for the ladies who work at this one particular strip club that I pass on the way to Morgantown. I never expected to actually meet anyone, but God had different plans. On the way to church one Sunday morning, driving past the club, I notice a girl sitting outside with her head down. I stopped to see what I could do for her; we sat and talked for a while. She told me about having three names, each a protective layer, that her wounds were from a fight that night with one of the other girls, and that she was waiting there to confront (fight some more) her “boyfriend” (the owner of the club) and the girl she fought with because they spent the night together. She had been up all night planning whatever she was going to do when she saw them again and was high on something, but God stepped in to touch her. I wish there were words to describe God’s love for her that poured out of me, I still feel it and cry for her. As we talked she calmed down, as she cried I hugged her and could feel the dirt and grit on her body, and was crying myself from the love that God was pouring out on her. She eventually did let me take her home.

  •  I actually drove by thinking I needed to get to church, can you believe that? But thank God He showed me how    absurd that was! Stopping to speak with that girl was God’s plan for me that day. Is it shocking that He would plan for me to help her instead of going to church? Sometimes it takes changing our plans, and sitting on the ground in white pants to reach out to those in need.
  • I know the safety reasons for not to get involved, believe me I heard about that from people worried about my safety, but none of that matters when God is directing our steps. When God tells us to get involved He handles all those details.

Driving into Morgantown last March/April, the weather was still really cold with some ice and snow. I noticed a homeless man with a bag walking along the road. I felt God nudging me to help him so I stopped, thinking I’d just give him a few bucks, but suddenly God moved things in a different direction. I ended up letting him get into my car and I drove him to a hotel up the road. On the short ride, we talked about his plans that I don’t really believe but encouraged him in. I noticed that his bag was full of large beer cans, and that he had spilled a large amount on the floor. I don’t have a good sense of smell, but even I could smell him. God was showing me a little bit of this man’s heart as he chatted, I felt sad for him that he wasn’t even able to be honest. He only spoke of either lies or what he would wish he was doing in life. I got him checked in to the hotel, as we came back out to the car He took out his bag of beer and threw it away which surprised me, but he had a warm place for the night. I pointed out the door to the rooms, we said good bye and he walked over to the door. I don’t know if he really did spend the night, but I know I did as God asked.

  • Honestly I wasn’t happy about letting him into my car, I wasn’t even sure it was God saying to do that. Would God really tell a woman alone to let a strange man into her car? Even he mentioned that women alone shouldn’t do that! LOL More confessions: I was a little embarrassed as I checked him into the hotel, I was afraid they would say no actually. I was too concerned with the spilled beer in my car, wondering if any of my Christian friends would start praying for me, thinking that I drink. LOL Wondering if the smell would come out of my seat cover. It was such small stuff to think of when God wanted to do so much.

There are instances when God touches people through us, we can’t sweat the small stuff as He does the big stuff in their life. I hope to never forget each one, but brace yourself for being outside your comfort zone and for getting a little dirty. Here’s praying that our tidy churches get smudged up carpets, smelly seats and beer stains! And here’s praying that we who are His hands and feet start hugging who others won’t and walking where others won’t go.

 Matthew 25: 37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? 38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’   40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

Leave a Reply

