Healing Prayer

Luke 11 (Amp)

1THEN HE was praying in a certain place; and when He stopped, one of
His disciples said to Him, Lord, teach us to pray, [just] as John taught his
disciples.
2And He said to them, When you pray, say: Our Father Who is in heaven, hallowed be Your name, Your kingdom come. Your will be done [held holy and revered] on earth as it is in heaven.

 Some of you are already applying this and seeing results, but some I’ve talked to hadn’t heard of this yet. I would like to start by saying that I’m not criticizing how you pray; I am merely sharing something I’ve been experiencing and hearing more about that may encourage you and shed some light on the fears and doubts about praying for
healing.

For me, I think I had been looking at praying for healing with an all or nothing kind of view – The bible says that God heals ALL sickness and disease, but I couldn’t reconcile that with the fact that people do still die of sickness and disease even though we’ve
prayed for them not too. If one was true why was the other true as well?

Most people, including me, pray scripture. When someone is sick we pull out the healing verses and start praying them. They ARE Truth so why doesn’t this work in all cases? For me, this is where the hink-up occurred in my thinking. Fear and doubt started to enter in and I wasn’t sure any more about praying for healing. I was asking in my own heart, “Why God, when Your Word is Truth?”.

Graham Cooke wrote a tiny little book called: Crafted Prayer. To use a word that he would use, it’s Brilliant! I think the simplest way to boil it all down is: Ask God what to
pray and pray that! In the book he goes into teaching examples and stories of how he’s applied this. In situations where someone is ill and needs a healing, he gathers a group of believers who want to hear from God on how to pray, their one goal is to craft a prayer for this person based only on what God has given them to pray. Those prayers we can put our expectations on and see them realized – in other words, they are money in the bank! If God says to pray it, it will be!

To me this fits perfectly with Jesus’ teaching in John 11 on how to pray. Jesus taught that we are to pray “Your Will Be Done”! And, I believe this is the missing puzzle piece to healing prayer, left missing it allows for confusion, hurt, and disappointment in God to enter our hearts and minds, but when we seek God for His Will and pray that – all the pieces come together and we can be confident in the results.

I think another issue with our prayers for healing is our Trust in God. I think when we’re firing off prayers to God in scary, heartbreaking situations our prayers tend to be based on our own desires, fears, wants, needs, and even doubts about God … then we
place our expectations on those prayers. If the prayers aren’t answered the way we prayed we are hurt, let down, and have increased our fears and doubts about God, but if we seek God for His will, listening for the specific verses or words from God for this person, it will be done and we come away confident in God.

 Jer. 33:2-3

“This is what the LORD says, he who made the
earth, the LORD who formed it and established it—the LORD is his name: ‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’”

God’s ways are not our ways and His thoughts are higher than ours, so we cannot presume to know God’s will – I know this is a hard thing for us. His Word does say His will is to heal so how do I say we can’t presume to know it? Yes, His will is to heal, but we don’t know what that healing looks like for God in that case, we only know what that healing looks like in our own desires and wants. We are pairing up His will to
heal with our definition of what healing we need at that moment and that isn’t always a match.

We’ve got to Trust God, in who He is! He is our Father who loves us and loves that person we are praying for more than we do. He doesn’t take lightly the death of His saints. He is for us not against us. In seeking His will we have to trust His answer. In the book, Graham tells of a sick friend who asked him to seek God on what to pray
for him. God responded with: “Tell him to die a good death”. Talk about heartbreaking! Do we still trust God when that is what He’s says? He really wants us to!

If you read the story, even in the worst case, when we know what God says, there can be peace. God’s Word brings assurance and solidity to an unsteady and scary situation. It’s not understandable in our humanness, it can’t be understood by our past wounds, but His Word is Truth and we can be confident in His truth even in hard circumstances. Praying God’s Will heals both we who pray and the one we pray for!

 Reference: “Crafted Prayer” by Graham Cooke

4 thoughts on “Healing Prayer

  1. Hi Amy,
    I just read your new post. I think it is very good especially when you stop and read the whole context. I’ve seen so many people…myself included, who read or hear just a little and presuppose they know where the author is going. That of course is not what God wants. Yes, we need to listen to God to teach us how to pray in every situation.

    I love the picture you used. Did you take this recently when you were at the beach in Fla?

    It was good to see you this morning. Thanks for the beautiful gift you are giving Becky and Brian. This is a huge blessing for them. With a large family, it may have been quite a while before they were able to purchase one.

    I’ve got my little plaque you made for my birthday right by my quiet place so I can read it and pray it back to the Lord. Thank you again for your sensitivity to God’s Spirit. The Lord knows just what we need and I needed that little plaque…obviously because I’m a visual person and learn best what I can both see and hear.

    I pray you are feeling better. I was praying for you in the middle of the night. I know God will be faithful to complete the work He has begun in you.

    In Christ’s love,
    Glenda

    1. Hi Glenda,
      The picture is one I found online, but it did remind me of being at the beach and my times of walking and talkinig with Him. (when I went to Frisco beach years ago) I am feeling better!! Praise God! Thank you for your prayers 🙂

      Love you
      Amy

    1. Hello, I’m glad that this post spoke to you. You can reach me via comments on this site, and I hope you will visit again. Thank you for the comment.

Leave a Reply

