Jericho Stillness

Psalm 46:10
He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

A couple weeks ago, I felt the urging to be still, and then rec’d a word from God to enter into a time of stillness called Jericho Stillness. A new thing to me, even though I thought I knew what stillness was, and thought I knew how to be quiet before the Lord. Trying to be still and not pray revealed some thoughts and feelings that I felt God wanted me to share with you.

Joshua 6:10  “But Joshua had commanded the people, “Do not give a war cry, do not raise your voices, do not say a word until the day I tell you to shout. Then shout!”

Each bullet contains my notes from each day, followed by my thoughts on what I learned or took away.

 Day 1 – thankful for the stillness, but feel so wrong not to be praying.   I feel like I should be telling You stuff God. I don’t want to lose ground on my prayers. In the stillness there is reliance on you God – that You know my needs, that You know the requests without me saying it.

I felt unsure, and felt the need to reassure myself that God would know whatever I needed, and that I didn’t have to spell it all out to Him to make sure He knew, but why would I think that? God knows what we will say before it is even formed on our lips. He knows our going out and coming in. He knows the beginning from the end so He knows my needs. I don’t have to pray them for Him to know them. It seemed to me that some prayers we pray are us instructing God in what needs to happen, and that we also pray out of our doubts that He would know what we need and when we need it.

Day 2 – I am missing the praying, dancing, singing, and laughter. The Israelites must have wondered what they were accomplishing in the stillness. Kept trying to pray and God kept saying “Be still”.

Thinking about that word Accomplishing – woke me up to the “works” mindset that can be behind our praying. It’s a sneaky thought, and a tricky one. It lead me into a look at prayers, but I believe that is for another post.

Day 3 – write a post about this experience. I saw a red-eyed demon chomping at the bit to attack me as I sit here saying nothing, but reading the Word. You are the power God, not our words, You! You are the knowledge, You are the planner behind all good, We only truly know how to pray when we hear from Your Heart. Prayers accomplish when we’ve heard your heart and prayed that. The “Take your sandals off” God speaking to Moses verse is about God‘s Holiness touching our flesh, no barriers between us and God, changing us, intimacy with Him, contact with our Creator.

There is power in stillness. The enemy hated my stillness. When we are still God rules! The one thing the enemy doesn’t want to happen – God to rule! God is our power and strength! I watched Victoria Osteen speaking, and she referenced an Elephant and a Mouse walking across a bridge. The bridge shook and quaked as they walked across. At the end of the bridge the mouse looks at the elephant and says: “Boy we really shook that up huh?!”  We are that mouse walking with God –it is Him who is really shaking things up. He roars and thunders and we are by His side. We, the mice, really can’t do much on our own, but when we try to do things our self we stop God’s earth shaking power in our life.

               • Day 4 – time to reflect and remember the deeds of God, His Mighty works, to see His Greatness! Rest – is putting my trust in God for my care, provision, well-being, life, and protection. It was what Eden was like, pre-fall. God calls us to rest, to toil and labor was the curse post-fall. Rest allows for ALL the power of God to be at work for us, and through us. We don’t want to let go of our work, our part because then we can’t take any credit.

Being still and not praying allows the mind to recall other times with God, things He did, things He didn’t do which were really better after all. To think on His Greatness – we are so small in this world. In our minds we are big, but really we are tiny. How amazing that God, Creator of all, can hear my voice! How amazing He would care too! Infinitely Huge God making Himself part of my heart and life, loving me. How He’s protected me. How He’s provided for me. How He cares for me.

            • Day 5 – Repenting of following the power, the gifts, the glitter of religion, the anointing – God is God – and He is the one to follow. Relationship with God is vital. I can’t love anything more, want anything more. My motives are all wrong – I’ve wanted fame, to be seen, to be heard. I’m puffed up in my own mind and heart. I believe my judgment over God’s.  Repenting.

The Grace of day 5 – God revealed some seriously ugly stuff in my thinking I didn’t know about. When I’m not doing all the talking, God gets a chance to show me some things, and man it was needed. In the stillness we can come face to face with ourselves – but no worries, there is Grace to repent and head a new way.

               • Day 6 – I wonder if the Israelites felt excited on the eve of day 7? Did they take God literally that the walls would fall? Could they imagine the walls falling as they actually did? God has reminded me of what He has said I am and am to be while at the same time He exposed and removed the stuff not of Him. Tomorrow the Shofar sounds and the walls come down.

I could see some of what God was doing in these days. Redefining some things, removing some “stinkin thinkin”, and realigning my line of sight. I see much benefit to times of stillness with God. Who better to do all the talking?

               • Day 7 – “Great is Thy Faithfulness, Great is Thy Faithfulness, morning by morning new mercies I see” “You give me Joy, Joy, Joy unspeakable and you make me more than happy.” And those the Son sets free are Oh so free indeed. “And He makes me more than happy.” Do I really see how Great Your Faithfulness is?

So much music and joy in my heart. Amazed at how much more there is to see of God. Overwhelmed by Him. A greater peace dwells with me now that didn’t before. I find myself more still before God, less eager to jump into prayer and more willing to say nothing and listen.

Ecclesiastes 5:2
“Do not be quick with your mouth, do not be hasty in your heart to utter anything before God.  God is in heaven and you are on earth, so let your words be few.”

5 thoughts on “Jericho Stillness

  1. Amy, I loved reading Jericho Stillness. All this sounds so very familiar to me. The stillness, the marching, blowing the shofar. This is what I was doing not too long ago. And I loved the scripture from Ecc. 5: 2. Would you believe I wrote this and surrounding verses down just a few days ago to use as a prayer.

    Like I said, we’re kindred spirits and sisters in Christ. So nice to be with you today. Thanks again for all your help.

    God bless you,
    Glenda

  2. Reblogged this on Dreams and Other Things and commented:

    Lately, God has been saying to move into a greater intimacy with Him. To be still. The way I’ve been doing relationship with Him needed to grow and deepen. I was reminded of being still before God, which reminded me of this post, so I thought I’d repost and share it again. It is time yet again to pursue a great depth. Praise God!
    Blessings, Amy

Leave a Reply

