I Will Remember

Hindsight – it is where all the books are written, and where all the testimonies come from. Hindsight is where we see God with 20/20 clarity.

Lam. 3:
21 Yet this I call to mind
and therefore I have hope:
22 Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
23 They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
24 I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion;
therefore I will wait for him.”

As Lamentations shows, the present troubles are ever before our eyes, the bad times, afflictions, and difficulties are never far from our sight, but “yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope”- is the remedy. All it takes is readjusting our perspective, by looking back at God, to regain the hope we need in the present.

1 Tim. 1:
18 Timothy, my son, I am giving you this command in keeping with the prophecies once made about you, so that by recalling them you may fight the battle well, 19 holding on to faith and a good conscience, which some have rejected and so have suffered shipwreck with regard to the faith.

Recall is a weapon:
By recalling the words spoken over us, the prophecies, the things God has told us directly – they all help us to fight the battle well. The enemy would love for us to forget anything God said to us, because if we can’t fight the battle well – he gets a shot at winning, but by being intentional to recall how God has come through for us, the sweet times of closeness with His Presence, the ways God has revealed Himself to us, etc…we can stand strong and fight well.

Journaling:
I don’t know where I heard this, I hesitate to share it, so please know that it’s not scriptural as far as I know, but when I heard this it struck a deep chord in me. I wouldn’t be surprised if it was actually true.
They were saying it was possible that Moses’ staff was etched with his journey with God. An etched record of the things God said to him, the promises, the instructions…anything that God said was recorded on his staff. He could look at it and recall all that God had said to him. It would have been a source of great strength.

The person talking about this was likening it to present day journaling, which I recommend doing with my whole heart. My journals are a treasure. My journey with God is written in the pages, the emotions of those days can be felt just by reading back through, and the strength I received in the answers God provided are there too.

These are ways to encourage ourselves in our most Holy faith! Looking back at God’s activity in us and our life is a strength we need to tap into. Distance gives us clarity to see what we couldn’t see while going through it. We can see how God brought us through and how He worked it all out for our good. We can see His faithfulness, His Presence, and His love in those memories. He wants us to remember His works, and to stand on them going forward.

Ps. 78  The entire chapter – God wanting us to remember and share His Mighty Deeds!

Ps. 77:11-12
“I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago. I will meditate on all your works and consider all your mighty deeds.”

Leave a Reply

