Do Not Fear!

Psalm 18

One of my favorite movies is: Last Holiday. It’s about a woman who isn’t living life until she’s diagnosed with 3 weeks to live. She has a car she won’t drive, cooks gourmet meals she takes pictures of but won’t eat, and saves money she won’t spend. She has a book of “Possibilities” of things she wants but settles for pictures of. She’s scared to live, but then suddenly life is about to run out. After diagnosed she takes off on a trip of a lifetime and starts to do things she always wanted to do; she speaks boldly and honestly with people, and takes chances. I think the reason this type of movie is so appealing is because we long so deeply to really live! We long to live life without fear! What would it be like? What would we do if we weren’t afraid of anything? What would it be like if I were out there in the world doing things instead of sitting here on this couch watching this movie? 🙂

Fear – fear deals in illusions. We are back to the Helmet of Salvation and getting the truth into our knower so we can walk as Conquerors instead of as a conquered people. It is the fearful illusion that tells us we are defeated before we begin. It is the fearful illusion that says we will be hurt if we step out. But thank God, it is the Absolute Truth of God’s Word that tells us we are more than conquerors, that all things are possible with God, that the Maker of Heaven and Earth is by our side helping us, saving us, rescuing us, and delivering us out of the hand of the enemy. Who told us we can’t? Who told us it was too risky to try? It wasn’t God.

My God is the God who made Heaven and Earth – do we really stop to consider that? We read it and think yeah, and move on. The Heavens – space, stars, planets, solar systems, black holes… whatever else is out there – God made it. How big are the hands that can form a planet? How Powerful a Creator that created the inferno of the Sun and set it in its place? How unimaginable that those same enormous hands reach down to protect you, me, all of His children individually. He formed the earth, told the oceans they could only go that far, He created every living creature to fit each habitat He created.
We lose track of just how BIG God really is when we live in fear. What is greater than God? What else comes close in Power, in Strength, and in Love?

Ps. 121:1-2 “I look up to the hills, but where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, who made Heaven and Earth.”

Is. 41:10 “So don’t worry, because I am with you. Don’t be afraid, because I am your God. I will make you strong and will help you. I will support you with my right hand that saves you.”

Ps. 46:1-2 “God is our protection and our strength. He always helps in times of trouble. So we will not be afraid even if the earth shakes, or the mountains fall into the sea.”

In a dream – I was battling with someone, using swords, up in the air. We were clashing blades and flying all around, but when we hit the ground an innocent bystander was struck dead by the swords. I was standing there looking at the body when the enemy grabbed me. I was held by two, one on each arm, as the enemy stood before me. He showed me a sonogram of the babies I was carrying. At that point he jammed his hand into my belly grabbing one of the babies. I heard a baby scream as I screamed when I woke up.

After writing down the dream I was so afraid. I prayed and prayed that nothing would happen to the gifts (babies) inside me. That God would keep me and them safe for His use. I started interpreting that dream out of that fear – I thought that because I was warring in my “pregnant condition” I was wrong to be doing so. That innocent people would die because of my careless acts, and that the enemy would kill the gifts in me if I wasn’t careful and wasn’t careless to fight in that condition. Anyone see a problem with all this?
It’s all FEAR based!! This kind of interpretation would lead me to live “carefully” for the Lord… what? I don’t think that is what we are called to do!! We are called to war, we are called to boldness, we are called to GO out, we are called to live supernatural lives – just in the supernatural alone there is risk, there is adventure, there is zero comfort zone!!
The enemy’s strategy was to produce fear that had that hint of good to it – to be afraid that I might hurt innocent people. Well, who wouldn’t want to avoid that? None of us go into ministry for the Lord thinking it’s ok if we hurt people. The other fear was a lie – that the enemy had a right to touch or harm one of God’s gifts. If you know of a place in scripture where you see the enemy has that right, please let me know because I haven’t read of it. The enemy wanted me to back down from fighting and used the fear of losing what God has given me. Even going so far as to imply carelessness on my part for being in the fight to begin with, because of the gifts God has given me. HUH? God gives us gifts that strengthen us, not limit our strength, not to tie us down in ineffectiveness. Gifts are given to advance the Kingdom – not convalesce the Kingdom. We don’t advance when we live in fear.

Psalm 27:2
When the wicked advance against me to devour me, it is my enemies and my foes who will stumble and fall.

Back when I still lived in Maryland, I attended a Warrior Conference at my old church, Cornerstone Church in Frederick MD. The last day of the weeklong conference we were to do something special. They had a Knighting Ceremony for those who would. They brought in this real, huge, sword for the service. I remember feeling fearful to go up and kneel down, I was weak-kneed – it was a fear I’d never felt before. I was afraid to fail God, because I was confident in my complete inability. I feared letting God down. He is Mighty and I am weak. I loved Him with a willingness to serve Him, but I could see my weakness, flaws, and past failures. It was weighty and serious. I ended up going forward, and as I was being knighted with the giant sword I looked up into Don Potter’s eyes as he tapped the blade on each shoulder, and felt such strong emotions…. I felt strength and weakness, weakness and willingness, fear and confidence mingle together. I was struck with fearful realization of the call I had just answered.

This is the fear we are to feel. The fear of the Lord! Now is the time God is raising up his army. An army made up of his children that would be willing to go beyond their fleshly fears, to go beyond anything that would hold them back!

Leave a Reply

