Washing Feet!

John 13:14
“Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet.”

Have you been looking for a mission? Do you wonder if God has something for you to be doing? Great news – there is a mission! God said to “wash one another’s feet”, but how do we do that? I know a church that used to/or still does have a day the members get together and wash each other’s feet. It was kind of funny, people felt awkward, and then we went on about our lives. Recently Holy Spirit started pointing out the very many verses about feet; I was surprised that there were so many and intrigued because that clearly means there is more to it.

I did some digging at the link below:
http://www.blueletterbible.org/search/Dictionary/viewTopic.cfm?type=getTopic&topic=FOOT
According to this site, feet were extremely important in biblical times as their primary mode of transportation, as a primary care need for frequent washing and wound treatment, dusting the feet signified acceptance or rejection, feet were considered a source of defilement, and feet were the focus of hospitality. There were so many other meanings to feet in scripture, but in this post I’d like to look at the mission we have in our feet.

John 13:34
34 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.

God is the God of connections – the primary mission given by Jesus is to love, connect that to washing the feet, with the gifts we are seeking and our mission grows, but the bottom line to all the connections is the benefit of others; others in the church or others outside the church. In looking at what Feet might represent, let’s consider what we can do to help (wash) others in these areas.

Our Standing –
• Psalm 26:12 “My feet stand on level ground; in the great congregation I will praise the LORD.”
• Hebrews 4:16 “Let us then approach God’s throne of grace with confidence, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help us in our time of need.”

In our standing we have the foundation we stand on, that is/should be Who/what we believe in. In our solid foundation we have confidence; we have hope to offer others as Jesus enables us to stand strong in the storms of life. In our confidence of who we are, as God’s Child, we have all things that are possible in God to offer. We can stand before God requesting healing, provision, whatever is needed knowing God hears our voice and that in doing the will of God the answer will be yes and amen. In our standing we can come before God on the behalf of whoever needs Him. In our standing we represent something unique in this world, something people want – true relationship, fulfillment, contentment, and joy.

Cleansing –
• Genesis 18:4 “Let a little water be brought, and then you may all wash your feet and rest under this tree.”
• Exodus 4:25 “But Zipporah took a flint knife, cut off her son’s foreskin and touched Moses’ feet with it. “Surely you are a bridegroom of blood to me,” she said.”

From our right standing we receive cleansing from all that life slimed us with; from the emotional and physical issues and daily struggles with our sin and the sin of others. We’ve been covered in the Blood of Jesus removing every stain. We know how it feels to be set free from addictions, from repeating sinful desires, from the shame and reproach of what we’ve done. We have the privilege to hand out that same acceptance to all people we come into contact with, to show that grace and mercy, to lavish the love which covers a multitude of sins. The word says when we forgive them – they are forgiven. All that we are given is to be given out! When we come into contact with “dirty feet” we can offer the water of love to cleanse, give the grace of acceptance, and forgive as we have been forgiven.

Movement –
• Acts 4:34-36 “34 that there were no needy persons among them. For from time to time those who owned land or houses sold them, brought the money from the sales 35 and put it at the apostles’ feet, and it was distributed to anyone who had need.”
• Proverbs 4:26 “Give careful thought to the paths for your feet and be steadfast in all your ways.”
• Job 23:11 “My feet have closely followed his steps; I have kept to his way without turning aside.”
• Nehemiah 9:21 “For forty years you sustained them in the wilderness; they lacked nothing, their clothes did not wear out nor did their feet become swollen.”

Movement can be our walk, the steps we take toward Jesus and growth in Him. As we grow, are we sharing what God has done to grow us? I am a firm believer in sharing what God has given. The more we share, the more we know, the more we grow and see God. It is truly about others!
We are also His feet in this life, walking out His purposes. Walking in the places and directions He desires. Our feet and hands are to do His will. Jesus, as our example, shows us that He came to touch people, to heal them, to meet their deepest needs, to be real in their lives. He ate with them, talked with them, taught them, and sought to set them free. Our walk, our movements should be to do the same. God will provide all we need to carry out the walk He’s called us too. God wants touch, heal, and provide for those He connects us with on that path. If every believer worked together to accomplish this, like in Acts, there would be no needy person. What a vision!

The call from God –
• Ezekiel 2:1 [ Ezekiel’s Call to Be a Prophet ] “He said to me, “Son of man, stand up on your feet and I will speak to you.”
• John 1: 76 “And you, my child, will be called a prophet of the Most High; for you will go on before the Lord to prepare the way for him, 77 to give his people the knowledge of salvation through the forgiveness of their sins, 78 because of the tender mercy of our God, by which the rising sun will come to us from heaven 79 to shine on those living in darkness and in the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the path of peace”

• Mark 10:49 “Jesus stopped and said, “Call him.” So they called to the blind man, “Cheer up! On your feet! He’s calling you.”
• Acts 26:16 “‘Now get up and stand on your feet. I have appeared to you to appoint you as a servant and as a witness of what you have seen and will see of me.”
• Romans 10:15 “And how can anyone preach unless they are sent? As it is written: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news!”
• Ezekiel 2:2 “As he spoke, the Spirit came into me and raised me to my feet, and I heard him speaking to me.”

Standing up and going out at the call of Jesus. We have a mission, to love others, to “wash their feet”, and to use the gifts as He applies them to us, but the greatest of these is LOVE. We know when we’ve been around someone whose been “washing our feet”. We feel welcomed, we feel loved by someone who recognizes the flaws in all people, but doesn’t consider them in the love they give out, we feel cared about by the genuine interest they show in us, and we come away from them built up and encouraged.

John 13:8-10
8 “No,” said Peter, “you shall never wash my feet.”
Jesus answered, “Unless I wash you, you have no part with me.”
9 “Then, Lord,” Simon Peter replied, “not just my feet but my hands and my head as well!”

To be part of Jesus is to be washed clean, and He desires that we would wash others in return. Giving away freely what we received freely. Let us desire the same as Peter! Let the water of your love, Lord, flood over us so that everyone we come into contact with will be knee-high in your love too.

Feet also indicate: our attitude, point of attack, learning, worship, and victory! Check it out!

27 thoughts on “Washing Feet!

  1. A formidable share, I simply given this onto a colleague who was doing somewhat evaluation on this. And he actually bought me breakfast as a result of I found it for him.. smile. So let me reword that: Thnx for the deal with! But yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I really feel strongly about it and love reading extra on this topic. If potential, as you develop into expertise, would you mind updating your weblog with more details? It’s extremely helpful for me. Big thumb up for this blog post!

    1. I’m very happy to hear the post meant so much. There is a lot to discover in God’s Word about feet. I hope you will keep digging on the issue.

  2. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to brand new updates and will share this website with my Facebook group. Talk soon!

  3. We are a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community. Your site provided us with valuable information to work on. You’ve done a formidable job and our whole community will be thankful to you.

    1. I’m very happy to hear that. Please let me know what it is you are going to do and what the Lord does through it.

  4. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog and I am impressed! Extremely useful information specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such info a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    1. Thank you for visiting. I’m glad this info was useful to and I hope and pray it is put into practice.
      Please visit again.

  5. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like you aided me.

    1. Thank you so much! You can also enter your email to receive instant updates when new posts come out.
      God Bless you

  6. I used to be searching for crucial information on this subject. The knowledge was necessary as I am about to launch my own portal. Thanks for providing a lacking link in my business. Anyway, in my language, there are usually not much good source like this.

    1. Thank you for stopping by and I’m glad it was helpful. Please visit again or enter your email to receive instant notification of new posts.

Leave a Reply

