Lest I Boast

Jer. 9:23,24
23 This is what the LORD says: “Let not the wise man boast of his wisdom or the strong man boast of his strength or the rich man boast of his riches, 24 but let him who boasts boast about this: that he understands and knows me, that I am the LORD, who exercises kindness, justice and righteousness on earth, for in these I delight,” declares the LORD.

Ephesians 2:8-10
8For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— 9not by works, so that no one can boast. 10For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.

I love Eph 2:8 – I love the grace of God to save us through a faith, which “and this not from yourselves”. We can’t even claim that Faith is ours!  I love the freedom in this verse!  It’s not our works, it’s not our faith, and it’s not our workmanship. We can’t boast! We have no legs to stand on to boast! Thank God it’s all Him! He does it all. In Him is all things, and through Him is all things.

Something that the Lord has made very clear to me is that whatever it is – it is not me, it is all Him! He is making the way for me, doing the heavy lifting, making it happen – spiritually speaking and even in my daily life. Lest we boast, lest I boast that anything is of me I have these reminders as pictures in my mind to nudge me back to the reality that I can do all things through Christ, but not of myself.

(I won’t write out each dream in its entirety, but will share the points God’s shown me are the same theme.)

Dream: I am entering a house, a large house, but when I entered the first floor the ceilings were so low I couldn’t stand up straight. I believe it was furnished in an outdated way and there was no power. Found a staircase to other floors, the second floor was completely empty with no power. The third floor – it looked like insulation and plywood ceiling covering the stairs up. Someone stepped in front of me and tore it all out so that I could go up. I walked up inside to find double of everything, power, and other stuff.

Notice that “Someone stepped in” – He dug out the ceiling, He cleared the path, He even directed my steps to find that doorway. He will dig out a way for you too. To conquer that obstacle you didn’t think you could conquer. To live where there is power.

Dream: I was in a white room, and the only thing in it was a teacher’s desk made of wood and scrolled in design intricately. Dad was there, and a dark-haired figure was trying to take what my Father was showing me. I was pointed to look under the desk on its side – there were three carved wooden panels that popped up. Once popped up it was a flat surface to lay away money. I lifted one, nothing. I lifted the second, nothing. I lifted the third and there was a 90 dollar bill, old coins, and seed bead gems some plain some with silver around the edges. When I looked down it was like my Dad had opened it to show me/He revealed it to me.

In this He revealed to me what was hidden. I didn’t know anything was hidden. I wasn’t thinking of looking for hidden panels or hidden treasure, but He made sure I found it. He opened up a mystery to me. He wants to teach me, wants me to learn from Him. He wants us to know what we don’t even know we can know. He wants this for all of us.

Dream: My Dad was moving me, boxes and a solid silver headboard/footboard. Something about it was hard, confused, seemed difficult, but then broke loose. He was moving me into His home, second floor bedroom which I already had a silver headboard/footboard in but noted that it was darker silver than the new one Dad had for me in the truck.

He did all the work. He was taking care of me. He had the plan for me. He prepared the place for me to go. He takes care of His children, and is the teacher in charge of their growth in Him. He is everything we need, but far too often we don’t know it or see it.

Teaching thoughts:
In my dreams I get a sense of who the person is. In the Desk Dream my “Dad” felt more like Jesus, but in the Silver Bed dream He felt like my Father God. In the Third Floor Dream I had the sense that it was the Holy Spirit doing the digging. If you have a question about who the figure is in your dream – consider the sense you feel in the dream of who it is.

A person in a dream might represent the meaning of their name, the way you see the person might be the meaning, it isn’t always cut and dry.

Leave a Reply

